Kew Gardens

Kew Gardens (Royal Botanic Gardens) dates back to the eighteenth century and is steeped in history. Over 300 acres of beautiful gardens with scientific exhibits, wonderful architecture and information.

History of Kew Gardens

1631 - The Dutch House is built on the site of an earlier Tudor structure built by Samuel Fortrey.
1678 - Sir John Evelyn (diarist) mentions a visit to a ‘myretetum and orangerie’ belonging to Sir Henry Capel.
1731 - Frederick, Prince of Wales, leased ‘The White House’ located next to the ‘The Dutch House’.
1728 - The Dutch House (now known as Kew Palace) leased by Queen Caroline.
1751 - Death of Prince Frederick
1751 - Augusta (Dowager Princess of Wales), the widow of Frederick continued the lease of the Dutch House and added improvements.
1756 (Circa) - Prince of Wales (to become King George III) tutored by Sir William Chambers in the art of architectural draughtsmanship.
1759 - Augusta founds a nine acre botanic garden guided by William Aiton (head gardener) and Lord Bute.
1760 - Temple of Bellona (A.K.A. Temple of War) constructed by Sir William Chambers on the authority of Lord Bute under the Princess Dowager.
1761 - Orangery designed by Chambers.
1761 to 1762 Great Pagoda constructed.
1770 - Grounds enhanced by ‘Capability’ Brown.
1771 - Death of Augusta.
1771 - King George III and Queen Charlotte take over ownership of the Dutch House.
1771 - Queen’s Cottage built as a summerhouse for Queen Charlotte.
1785 - Temple of Arethusa built by Sir William Chambers.
1801 - Cambridge Cottage (formerly owned by Lord Bute) is designated to George III’s son Adolphus whom he made Duke of Cambridge.
1802 - The White House is demolished.
1818 - Death of Queen Charlotte.
1836 - Aroid House (1 Glasshouse Street) re-erected from an original structure from Buckingham Palace.
1837 - King William’s Temple constructed, designed by Sir Jeffrey Wyatville.
1837 - Cambridge Cottage, situated on Kew Green becomes permanent home to Duke of Cambridge.
1841 - Royal Commission hands grounds over to the nation.
1844 - Work begins on the ‘Palm House’ designed by Decimus Burton and Richard Turner.
1847 - Museum opened to house exhibits donated by Sir William Hooker director of the gardens.
1848 - Palm House completed.
1848 - Main Entrance built, designed by Decimus Burton.
1857 - Second museum opened (Museum I), designed by Decimus Burton.
1860 - Work begins on the Temperate House, designed by Decimus Burton.
1882 - Marianne North Gallery opened on 9th July housing botanical oil paintings.
1899 - Queen’s Cottage open to public.
1899 - Temperate House completed.
1904 - Edward VII presented Cambridge Cottage to Kew Gardens.
1920 - Refreshment Pavilion erected, designed by R.D. Allison.
1959 - 225ft tall flagstaff erected by the Royal Engineers.
1969 - Queen’s Garden situated at the rear of Kew Palace opened by Queen Elizabeth II in May.

Arts and Humanities:
Twickenham Art Deco Fair
Historic Twickenham:
Ham House
History of Twickenham
Marble Hill House
Strawberry Hill
Museums & Galleries:
Orleans House Gallery
Shopping in Twickenham
Parks & Gardens:
Crane Park Island Nature Reserve
Kew Gardens
Richmond Park